FRANCES AND THE MONSTER Releases on 8/23/22!

We are only TWO MONTHS away from the publication of FRANCES AND THE MONSTER (Harper Childrens) by Refe Tuma! The book releases on 8/23/22 in hard cover, digital, and audio! And the glowing reviews are pouring in!

“[Frances’] memorable adventure, with strong echoes of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, plays out against a colorful background as she confronts who she is in a truly shocking finale. A fast-paced and remarkably original tale.”  — Kirkus Reviews

“A page-turning adventure with a lot of surprises along the way. Frances and the Monster is a joy to read!” — New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix

A captivating tale filled with monsters, marvels, and misadventures, Frances and the Monster is gripping, inventive, and deeply moving. Tuma’s middle-grade debut is a harrowing and heartfelt tribute to owning your scars and learning to turn them into stars.” — Alysa Wishingrad, author of The Verdigris Pawn

“A thrilling adventure that does not shy away from hard topics like grief, death, anxiety and what it truly means to find your place in this world. Refe Tuma proves that with friendship and love even death isn’t the end.” — Ally Malinenko, author of Ghost Girl

“This book has twists, turns, and surprises galore…And the ending, holy moly! No spoilers here, but this is the kind of book you’ll want to talk about with a friend.” — Ben Gartner, author of The Eye of Ra series

What would you do if you accidentally brought a monster to life and set him loose on your town? 

Adventurous and charming, this middle grade twist on Frankenstein features a precocious main character who does just that. Perfect for fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak and the Greenglass House series.

Frances Stenzel was just trying to prove her scientific worth to her parents so they would take her with them to their scientific symposiums for once—instead, she reawakened her great-grandfather’s secret and most terrible invention.

Before it can destroy the town, she sets off after it, with her pet chimp and sarcastic robot tutor by her side. But monster-hunting isn’t easy, and she’ll have to face a persistent constable, angry locals, and an unexpected friendship ahead—all while the trail for the monster goes cold and time is running out before her science career, and the city itself, are doomed forever.

Full of thrills and heart alike, Frances and the Monster takes readers through winding streets and over perilous rooftops, with wily monsters, unpredictable twists, and powerful friendships waiting along the way.

Don’t miss out on the pre-order!

FRANCES AND THE MONSTER – AMAZON

FRANCES AND THE MONSTER – BARNES & NOBLE

And be sure to add the book to your TBR shelf on Goodreads: FRANCES AND THE MONSTER – GOODREADS

FRANCES AND THE MONSTER is Refe Tuma’s middle-grade debut, but he’s also the co-creator of Dinovember and the WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID picture book series, including WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID LAST NIGHT, named a Best Children’s Book of the Year with Honors by Bank Street College and WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS. Refe lives with his family and his dog Boris in Kansas City, where he once experienced all four seasons in a single day. Oh, and it’s pronounced ‘reef.’

Also, check out Refe’s website and while you’re there, sign up for his updates: REFE TUMA

You can also Like and Follow Refe’s Facebook author page to keep up with all his brilliant new releases: AUTHOR REFE TUMA – FACEBOOK

And you can follow him on Twitter here: REFE TUMA – TWITTER

More exciting developments to come! I’ll keep you all posted!

COVER REVEAL/PRE-ORDER FOR OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS!

Woot! The cover for OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS by Charity Alyse has just been revealed! I can’t wait for everyone to read this incredibly moving YA debut! This is the third book I ever sold as an agent and it comes out from Denene Millner Books/Simonteen on November 22nd, 2022! In the meantime, be sure to add the book to your TBR shelf on Goodreads: OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS – GOODREADS

This lilting and riveting young adult debut novel about three teens entangled by secret love, open hatred, and the invisible societal constraints wrapped around people both Black and white is perfect for readers of All American Boys and The Hate U Give.

There is an unspoken agreement between the racially divided towns of Bayside and Hamilton: no one steps over the train tracks that divide them. Or else.

Not until Zach Whitman anyway, a white boy who moves in from Philly and who dreams of music. When he follows his dream across the tracks to meet his idol, the famous jazz musician who owns The Sunlight Record Shop in Hamilton, he’s flung into Capri Collins’s path.

Capri has big plans: she wants to follow her late mother’s famous footsteps, dancing her way onto Broadway, and leaving this town for good, just like her older brother, Justin, is planning to do when he goes off to college next year. As sparks fly, Zach and Capri realize that they can help each other turn hope into a reality, even if it means crossing the tracks to do it.

But one tragic night changes everything. When Justin’s friend, the star of Hamilton’s football team, is murdered by a white Bayside police officer, the long-standing feud between Bayside and Hamilton becomes an all-out war. And Capri, Justin, and Zach are right in the middle of it.

This book brought me to tears the first time I read it! You won’t want to miss it!

You can find the links to preorder it here: OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS PREORDER

Be sure to Like and Follow Charity’s Instagram to keep up with all her brilliant new releases: AUTHOR CHARITY ALYSE – INSTAGRAM

You can also follow her on Twitter here: CHARITY ALYSE – TWITTER

And guess what else?! Charity was just featured in BUSTLE! Check it out–>  The Best Black History Month Reads, According To This Year’s Debut Authors

You’ll be hearing more about OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS as its release date gets closer so stay tuned!

~Marlo

Cover Reveal for FRANCES AND THE MONSTER!

Woot! The cover for FRANCES AND THE MONSTER by Refe Tuma has been revealed! This is the second book I ever sold as an agent and it comes out from Harper Childrens on August 23rd, 2022! I can’t wait for everyone to read this incredible historical middle-grade fantasy! In the meantime, be sure to add the book to your TBR shelf on Goodreads: FRANCES AND THE MONSTER – GOODREADS

Isn’t that a gorgeous cover! And just wait until you read the story! It’s equally captivating!

FRANCES AND THE MONSTER is Refe Tuma’s middle-grade debut, but he’s also the co-creator of Dinovember and the WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID picture book series, including WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID LAST NIGHT, named a Best Children’s Book of the Year with Honors by Bank Street College and WHAT THE DINOSAURS DID THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS which hits shelves October 26, 2021 (!!). Refe lives with his family and his dog Boris in Kansas City, where he once experienced all four seasons in a single day. Oh, and it’s pronounced ‘reef.’

Be sure to Like and Follow Refe’s Facebook author page to keep up with all his brilliant new releases: AUTHOR REFE TUMA – FACEBOOK

You can also follow him on Twitter here: REFE TUMA – TWITTER

You’ll be hearing more about FRANCES AND THE MONSTER as its release date gets closer so stay tuned!

~Marlo

EAT, READ, & BE SCARY!

I’m pleased to announce that I’ll be appearing at the Eat, Read, & Be Scary Literacy Event hosted by the Community Literacy Team at Black Horse Pike Regional School District!

Join me on Wednesday, October 27th from 5pm to 8pm in Triton High School’s LMC for an all-ages FREE night out that your whole family can enjoy. Come in costume!

At the Eat, Read, & Be Scary Literacy Event, you can:

  • Enjoy a campfire story featuring authors Marlo Berliner & Mary Ann Castignetta, & storytellers Chief Sampolski & Tyler Hines
  • Make and take Mask-querade station
  • Spooky Flashlight reading
  • Magnetic POEtry featuring words from Edgar Allen Poe stories
  • Bookmark making station
  • Multi-sensory stations with Halloween Play-Doh
  • The Game Cauldron
  • Halloween Night photo booth
  • Get free parent resources
  • Enter raffles to win gift baskets
  • Have dinner with your whole family (on us!)
  • LEAVE WITH A FREE BOOK!
  • & much more

Check out this website for more information: Halloween Family Night Out

This event is open to those in the Black Horse Pike Communities, and spots are limited, so don’t delay!

Registration for this event closes on Monday, October 18th!

Hope to see you there!

OKTOBERFEST IN CAPE MAY IS ON!

It’s official! I’m going to be signing THE GHOST CHRONICLES 1 & 2 at Oktoberfest in Cape May, NJ on 9/25/21! Come celebrate the famous Bavarian tradition in Cape May with me! The festival will be located in the heart of the Victorian district, as it is transformed into a German promenade with authentic music and food. Visit the Beer Gardens and Food Courts browse the artisans tables selling crafts, antiques and collectibles. (Rain date Sept. 26th)
Hope to see you there!
XOXO,
~Marlo